*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Faculty Award

2009 Recipient: VALERIE L. SAYERS

The honoree for this year’s Faculty Award is a distinguished scholar who came to the University in 1993. As colleagues in her department state, “It was her work that really created a most successful Creative Writing Program—despite a shoestring budget.” Moreover, she has always been a magnificent ideas person who is not put off by the diurnal labor of making something succeed. She has contributed to a number of discussions on this campus, figuring in numerous committees of importance. Her genius and creative thinking help to make us what we are, and her encouragement of others keeps us all “going in the right direction.”

The University of Notre Dame is pleased to confer the Faculty Award upon


Professor of English
* * * * *

Established in the 1927–28 academic year by the Alumni Association, the Faculty Award singles out that faculty member who, in the opinion of his or her colleagues, has contributed outstanding services to the University. Nominations are received from the faculty at large and a committee of former Faculty Award winners makes the final selection.

Faculty Award Winners Since 1960

1959–60 Otto Bird
1960–61 John Frederick
1961–62 Milton Burton
1962–63 Stephen Kertesz
1963–64 Raymond Gutschick
1964–65 Matthew Fitzsimons
1965–66 Bernard D. Cullity
1966–67 John Magee
1967–68 Rev. Charles E. Sheedy, C.S.C.
1968–69 Bernard Waldman
1969–70 James Massey
1970–71 Thomas Stritch
1971–72 Ernest Sandeen
1972–73 Rev. Ernan McMullin
1973–74 Robert E. Rodes jr.
1974–75 Herbert E. Sim
1975–76 Ronald Weber
1976–77 Walter Miller
1977–78 J. Philip Gleason
1978–79 K.T. Yang
1979–80 Frederick J. Crosson
1980–81 Jeremiah P. Freeman
1981–82 Morris Pollard
1982–83 James Kohn
1983–84 John Malone
1984–85 Rudy Bottei
1985–86 Rev. David Burrell, C.S.C.
1986–87 Paul Weinstein
1987–88 Ray Powell
1988–89 Robert A. Leader
1989–90 Edward J. Murphy
1990–91 Eugene Henry
1991–92 George B. Craig Jr.
1992–93 Lee Tavis
1993–94 Sonia Gernes
1994–95 Ralph McInerny
1995–96 Carol Ann Mooney
1996–97 William B. Berry
1997–98 George S. Howard
1998–99 Frank Reilly
1999–00 John Borkowski
2000–01 Yusaku Furuhashi
2001–02 Jean Porter
2002–03 Francis Castellino
2003–04 Fernand “Tex” Dutile
2004–05 Cornelius Delaney
2005–06 Maureen Hallinan
2006–07 A. Graham Lappin
2007–08 Michael J. Etzel