*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Rev. John “Pop” Farley, C.S.C., Award

2009 Recipient: REV. JOHN CONLEY, C.S.C.

The Rev. John “Pop” Farley, C.S.C., Award is given annually to honor distinguished service to student life at the University of Notre Dame.

Completing his 12th year as a residence hall rector, this year’s recipient hails originally from Rhode Island. A Holy Cross priest, he is like the Good Shepherd: He knows every student in Siegfried Hall, and they know him, as mentor, guide, advisor, and friend. By word and deed, he encourages these students and helps them strive for their full potential as scholars, leaders, and people of faith. Whether cheering on the Siegfried Ramblers to championships in football, hockey, and bowling; raising funds for the South Bend Center for the Homeless through the “Day of Man”; or leading the hall’s annual retreat, his energy and enthusiasm are contagious. He also coordinates the Confirmation program in Campus Ministry, helping students to grow in faith through sacramental preparation. A trusted and generous colleague, he has made invaluable contributions to student life and embodies the very best of Notre Dame.

It is with great gratitude for his tremendous service and commitment to the students of Notre Dame that we honor


Past Recipients

1977 Rev. Matthew M. Miceli, C.S.C.
1978 Sr. Jean Lenz, O.S.F.
1979 Rev. Thomas McNally, C.S.C.
1980 Eugene Gorski
1981 Sr. Jane Pitz, C.S.J.
1982 Br. Peter Mahoney, Brothers of Francis Xavier
1983 Rev. Daniel R. Jenky, C.S.C.
1984 David Noone
1985 Rev. James Riehle, C.S.C.
1986 Rev. Thomas P. King, C.S.C.
1987 Sr. Marietta Starrie, C.S.C.
1988 Mr. Carl Stam
1989 Sr. John Miriam, S.C.
1990 David T. Tyson
1991 John T. Goldrick
1992 Gerald V. Lardner
1993 Mary Louise Gude
1994 Joris Binder, O.P.
1995 Marietta Murphy
1996 George Rozum, C.S.C.
1997 Joseph Carey, C.S.C.
1998 Maureen Minihane, C.S.C.
1999 Bonaventure Scully, C.F.X.
2000 Stephen P. Newton, C.S.C.
2001 Sr. Kathleen Beatty, S.S.J.
2002 Sr. Kathryn A. Haas, P.H.J.C.
2003 Maureen A. Fitzgibbon
2004 Sister Annette George, O.S.F.
2005 Sr. Patricia J. Thomas, O.P.
2006 Sister Susan Bruno, O.S.F.
2007 Rev. Paul F. Doyle, C.S.C.
2008 Rev. Tom Gaughan, C.S.C.