*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Rev. Paul J. Foik, C.S.C., Award

2009 Recipient: SCOTT VAN JACOB

The 2009 Foik Award recipient has worked with distinction on national and international levels, while contributing significantly to the development of the University Libraries. For more than 13 years his efforts have been guided by a commitment to making Notre Dame a premiere place to conduct academic research.

Within the library he leads by example and has been at the forefront of the ever-changing electronic technologies that have had so much impact on research libraries. Through skill, knowledge, persistence, and patience he has developed world-class collections that facilitate teaching and research in his subject areas.

His roles in national organizations such as the Association of Research Libraries and the Center for Research Libraries have won the praise of colleagues around the world. Specifically, his research in Barcelona on the extent of modern Catalan publishing was groundbreaking.

The University of Notre Dame is pleased to confer the Rev. Paul J. Foik, C.S.C., Award upon


* * * * *

The Rev. Paul J. Foik Award is given annually to a library faculty member who has contributed significantly to library service to the Notre Dame community or to the library profession through personal scholarship or involvement in professional associations. The award is named for the Holy Cross priest who served as director of Notre Dame’s library from 1912 to 1924 and was a leading figure in the library profession in the first quarter of the 20th century.

Prior Recipients

1991 Maureen Gleason
1992 Robert Havlik
1993 Joseph Huebner
1994 Rafael Tarrago
1995 Janis Johnston (Law Library)
1996 Charlotte Ames
1997 Dwight King (Law Library)
1998 Steve Hayes
1999 Katharina Blackstead
2000 Margaret Porter
2001 Lucy Salsbury Payne
2002 Laura Anderson Bayard
2003 Joanne Bessler
2004 Doug Archer
2005 Eric Lease Morgan
2006 Carole Richter Pilkinton
2007 Laura S. Fuderer
2008 Joseph W. Thomas