*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Faculty Honors A–G

Encarnación Juárez Almendros, associate professor and Fellow of the Nanovic Institute for European Studies, was nominated for the MLA Division Executive Committee, Disability Studies, 2008; and was appointed to the Nominating Committee for the Cervantes Society of America, 2008.

Ani Aprahamian, professor of physics, was appointed co-chair of the standing NSAC ASubcommittee on Isotope Production and Applications 2006–2008, and program director for nuclear physics and nuclear astrophysics at the National Science Foundation. She also received the NSF Director’s Award for Collaborative Integration, 2008.

J. Douglas Archer, librarian, has been appointed to a one-year term on the Advocacy Coordinating Group of the American Library Association’s Advocacy Committee and, as immediate past chair, is serving a one-year term as chair of the Intellectual Freedom Round Table’s Nominating Committee.

Keith J. Egan, professor of theology, was appointed to serve on the Advisory Board for Christian Classics, Ave Maria Press.

David Fagerberg, professor of theology, was invited to serve on the advisory board of the Ukrainian Catholic University in Lviv Ukraine.

Gustavo Gutiérrez, the John Cardinal O’Hara Chair in Theology, received the Siena Medal, the highest award presented by Siena Heights University, at their 2009 commencement ceremony in recognition of significant contributions to the university, the community, or humanity; and received an honorary degree from Yale University.