*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Faculty Honors A-Z

J. Douglas Archer, librarian, has been appointed to a two-year term on the Privacy Subcommittee of the American Librarian Association's Intellectual Freedom Committee (IFC) and has been appointed to a second one-year term as Liaison from the Intellectual Freedom Round Table Executive Board to the IFC. He has also been elected Director at Large of the American Library Association’s Intellectual Freedom Round Table Executive Board for a two-year term.

Mark Caprio, assistant professor of physics, is the recipient of a 2010 Cottrell Scholar Award from the Research Corporation for Science Advancement.

Kevin J. Christiano, associate professor of sociology, was elected to a four-year term as chair of the Publications Committee of the Religious Research Association, publishers of the scholarly quarterly Review of Religious Research.

Umesh Garg, professor of physics, was elected the vice chair of the next Gordon Research Conference in Nuclear Chemistry at the 2011 meeting held during June 12-17, 2011, at the Colby Sawyer College, New London, N.H. He will become chair of the subsequent conference.

Donald E. Sporleder, professor emeritus of architecture, has been elected vice chairman of the Indiana Department of Natural Resources, Trails Advisory Board.

Samir Younés, associate professor of architecture, received an honorable mention from the 2011 Congress of New Urbanism Charter Awards for his proposal for a new city  "Georgetown" in Romania.