*Please Note: With the start of the 2011–12 academic year, the ND Report website will no longer be updated.

Faculty Honors A-G

J. Douglas Archer, librarian, has been named to the search committee for a new executive director of the American Library Association’s Office for Intellectual Freedom and executive secretary of the Freedom to Read Foundation; was re-elected to a third term on the board of directors of the Peace and Justice Studies Association; and was named to the ALA Task Force on Proposed Google Book Search (GBS) Settlement; named to a fourth one-year term as chair of the Indiana Library Federation Intellectual Freedom Committee. Appointed chair for the Intellectual Freedom Committee by the Indiana Library Federation for one year in 2010.

Bruce A. Bunker, professor of physics, has been elected vice chair and chair-elect of the International X-ray Absorption Society, an international group chartered with representing users of these x-ray techniques and sponsoring international conferences and education and outreach programs.

Alan Dowty, professor emeritus of political science, was awarded the Support Excellence Award by the Leadership Development and Education for Sustained Peace Program, U.S. Naval Postgraduate School; was appointed an associate member of the Center for Jewish Studies as well as an associate member of the Center for Middle Eastern Studies at the University of Chicago.

Keith Egan, professor of theology, received a 2009 First Place Award in its category from the North American Catholic Press Association for his essay “Mother Teresa’s Dark Night,” originally published in Spiritual Life 54 (2008).

Robert Gimello, professor of theology, was appointed a member of the governing board of the Ho Center for Buddhist Studies at Stanford University; and was appointed a member of the editorial board of Church History: Studies in Christianity and Culture, with responsibility chiefly for submissions dealing with the history of the Church in Asia.

Father Gustavo Gutiérrez, professor, The John Cardinal O'Hara Chair in Theology, fellow Kellogg Institute for International Studies, was the recipient of the Jorge Dintilhac Medal at La Pontificia Universidad Católica del Perú.  It is the highest honor given by the University (March 26, 2010).